Wayne Cooperative Insurance logo

Directors and Officers

Wayne V. Rice, Chairman, Board of Directors

Wayne V. Rice

Board of Directors

After joining Wayne Cooperative Insurance Company in 1978 and serving a dual role as Accounting Clerk/Claims Adjustor, Wayne was quickly elected in 1979 to the Board of Directors Before being elected President/CEO in 1984, Wayne also served as Treasurer to the Board of Directors. During his term as President and CEO, Wayne was responsible for growing the Company from $1,000,000 in annual premiums to $5,400,000 in annual premiums along with a personnel growth from 4 employees to 10.

In 1999 Wayne retired from his role as President and CEO and was elected Chairman of the Board.

Jeffrey W. Rice, President, CEO

Jeffrey W. Rice CPCU, ARe

Chief Executive Officer

After graduating from the State University of New York at Binghamton with a B.A. in Economics, Jeff joined Wayne Cooperative in 1985 as an underwriter trainee. He was elected to the board of directors at that time and has since served as Treasurer and Vice President. Jeff has also worked in the finance and IT departments.

In 1999, Jeff was elected to President of the Board and CEO of the company, where he continues to serve after over 25 years in the industry. Jeff’s responsibilities include direct management of the company’s resources toward the achievement of strategic and financial objectives, participation in formulation of company goals, objectives and policies and plans, organizes, coordinates, controls and directs the staff, programs and activities of Wayne Cooperative.

Marshall J. Hancock, Executive Vice President

Marshall J. Hancock

Executive Vice President
Vice President of Claims

Marshall joined Wayne Cooperative Insurance Company in 1992 and in 1995 was appointed as Claims Manager. In 1998, Marshall was named Vice-President of claims. Marshall acts as the Catastrophe Coordinate Office and SIU Fraud Officer for the company. In March of 2000 Marshall earned his Casualty Claims Law Specialist (CCLS) from the American Educational Institute. Furthermore, Marshall has earned a Building Damage Estimating Certification from Vale National 1990 and a B.S. in Business Administration from SUNY Oswego in 1986. Marshall has over twenty years of multi-line claims adjusting experience.

Board of Directors

  • Robert F. Brisky
  • Clair J. Britt, Jr.
  • James F. Buisch
  • Kenneth E. DiSanto
  • Jane E. Hubbs
  • Michael W. Palumbos
  • Jeffrey W. Rice
  • Wayne V. Rice
  • William M. Thompson, Sr.
  • Michael A. Virts
  • Richard A. Wadsworth
  • Melanie L. Wickham


  • Wayne V. Rice, Chairman of the Board
  • Jeffrey W. Rice CPCU, ARe, President and CEO
  • Marshall J. Hancock, Executive Vice President, Vice President of Claims
  • Thomas J. Liseno, Assistant Vice President, Senior Underwriter

Find an Agent

Over 150 agencies representing Wayne Cooperative, located throughout New York State, that will be more than happy to assist you.